Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I found this verse in Job the other day:

“What strength do I have, that I should still hope?
What prospects, that I should be patient?
Do I have the strength of stone?
Is my flesh bronze?
Do I have power to help myself,
now that success has been driven from me?” (Job 6:11, NIV)

Do you feel like that now? Have you just gotten a diagnosis that says your eggs are “too old”? Have you found out your husband’s sperm analysis came back with horrible results? Did you just find out you have an underlying health condition that needs to be “fixed” before you can try to conceive…and by the way that will take at least a year?

What prospects do you have? The door has just been shut on your dreams. Success has been driven from you.

So what do you do?
You grieve.
You cry.
You get angry…even at God.
You then figure out a way to dream a new dream.

In response to Job’s sorrow his friend replied:
“But if it were I, I would appeal to God;
I would lay my curse before him.
He performs wonders that cannot be fathomed,
miracles that cannot be counted.” (Job 5:8-9, NIV)

These miracles may not be a new reserve of fertilizable eggs or new sperm or a miraculous healing, but it may be a change in heart to considering other options. It may be a change in attitude about the prospects of using an egg donor or considering adoption. But changing your heart and your feelings is a miracle and it is possible. You can find joy again.

-Cindy

