Tags

, , , , ,

It’s three a.m., you got up to use the bathroom and now you can’t fall back asleep.  This is when our mind and heart like to play the “What if…” game. 

“What if I never get pregnant?”

“What if we can’t afford Assisted Reproduction?”

“What if the birth-mom changes her mind?”

“What if my husband never agrees to adoption?”

“What if the surgery doesn’t work?”

“What if this pain never goes away?” 

“What if I never become a parent?”

These are the cries of our hearts.  Our biggest fears. 

So what do you do?

I am still up at three a.m. at times.  For different reasons now but when I play the “What if” game I try to redicrect my thoughts.  First I repeat this verse over and over:

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your request to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.”  Philippians 4:6-7

After I say that verse I feel better…sometimes…and sometimes my mind races right back to my worries and I have to repeat the verse again.   Often multiple times.

Sometimes you just have to answer your “What if” questions with a “I don’t know, but I will be all right.”  Even if you can’t imagine any way on earth that you would be all right.  You don’t have to figure it out now.  Trust that God will change your feelings and give you the strength if any of your “What ifs” come true.

-Cindy

 

