Tags

, , , , , ,

Today is my son’s birthday.  He would have been 12-years-old today.  Our son Jacob was born at 24 weeks, weighing a little under 2lbs.  He spent 23 days in the NICU fighting for his life.  There were days it looked like he would make it, followed by days that were really rough.  He got NEC (Necrotizing enterocolitis) had surgery to repair his bowel, kept fighting for a few weeks but eventually it was all too much.  I shared his story on my blog last year, you can read more about this amazing boy here.

12 years and you would think it would get easier, but I think it just plateaus, never goes away, is heightened at times, but for the most part will always be a grief you never get over.  Sweet thoughts today for my boy who fought hard to stay with us and touched our lives forever while he was here.

-Cindy

 

