Tags

, , , , ,

This week in chapter 11 of Hannah’s Hope, author Jennifer Saake writes about the importance of faith and prayer.  How many times have your heard, “You just need to have faith, it will happen.”

Although that statement is meant to be encouraging it implies that you are don’t have a child yet because you don’t really believe God can provide.  This is so untrue.  The author writes:

“The more I study, the more I am convinced that when God wills, He moves, even when my faith is shaky.  If I offer to Him the faith I have with the attitude of ‘I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief’ (Mark 9:24), He does the rest.”

God knows we question Him.  God even understands why we may be angry with Him.  But He also wants us to admit that and come to Him with our feelings through prayer.  Ms. Saake sites James 4:2, “You do not have, because you do not ask God.”  This may seem obvious and you may say, “I have been asking…for years!”  But what have you been asking for?

I think you need to be specific.  I think it is fine to pray for a healthy baby.  But you also need to pray for God’s will to be done, whatever that is.  Pray for patience, pray for direction, pray for peace while you wait.

-Cindy

 

