Tags

, ,

I saw an article about the demographics of babies being born in the U.S.  According to the Washington Post, “For the first time in U.S. history, most of the nation’s babies are members of minority groups, according to new census figures that signal the dawn of an era in which whites no longer will be in the majority.”

This wasn’t surprising to me but it made me think back to when we started the adoption process.  I had my heart set on a mini-me, little white girl with curly blond hair or a mirror image of Joey, little toe-headed boy.  I still wanted the “Sears Portrait” family.  I got over that, but when I see this new statistic I imagine there will be other moms-to-be that have to wrestle with the decision to adopt a baby different from their own background.

Our adopted daughter’s heritage is half-white, half-latino but she looks just like my husband (he is Danish but has olivey skin).  It will be a much easier place for her to live in the future with all the diversity the U.S. continues to see.

You can read the whole story at:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/local/census-minority-babies-are-now-majority-in-united-states/2012/05/16/gIQA1WY8UU_story.html

-Cindy

