Tags

, , , , ,

This week we look at Chapter 10 of “When the Cradle is Empty” by John and Sylvia Van Regenmorter.  Chapter 10 is titled, “High-Tech Treatments: Tough Issues”

This chapter addressed the difficult moral decisions when it comes to assisted reproduction technologies.  It outlines the logistics of the most common forms of ART and answers questions based on each one.  What is morally OK?  When does it go too far?  Is it OK for Christians to use donor sperm or donor eggs?  What about a surrogate?

These were all very difficult decisions for my husband and I.  It was hard to find any clear-cut guidelines on the matter.  The Bible doesn’t spell out what we should do when it comes to these things.

Personally I would have a hard time using donor sperm or eggs but not necessarily because I think it is morally wrong.  We did IVF with a surrogate (my eggs, my husbands sperm), some people object to that.  We took the sanctity of life very seriously and gave every created embryo a chance at life.  I have yet to have anyone question our choice to work with a surrogate to my face but I imagine there are mumblings behind my back of “Oh I would never go that far to have a baby.”  (I have been confronted by someone who was outraged that we adopted a child from Ukraine and uprooted him from his homeland!  So you really can’t please everyone.)

If your child had cancer would you give him chemo if the doctors thought it would save his life?  Then why wouldn’t it be OK to use Clomid to help create his life?  Carefully think about each decision and get as much information as you can so you can feel more comfortable making your decisons and if need be defending them.

I won’t go into the specifics the authors present but they do present pros and cons of both sides on each issue.  It gives good questions the think about and consider.  The authors wrap-up this chapter in a good way:

“Using today’s medical technology to have a baby raises complicated, soul-searching questions for Christians.  If you face these difficult decisions, my heart goes out to you.  My hope and prayer is that the information you’ve just read will help you make God-honoring decisions as you learn to seek His will.”

-Cindy

